S 1.8 Reporting: BCL Securitisation and Loan Transfer Return

RegReportingDesk card: BCL, Banque centrale du Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Resident credit institutions that have carried out securitisations or other reportable loan acquisitions or disposals must submit S 1.8, “Securitisations and other loan transfers by credit institutions”, to the Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL) monthly, no later than 10 working days after month-end. Under Article 2(23) of Regulation (EU) 2021/379, loan transfers may be effected through a transfer of ownership or by sub-participation. S 1.8 reporting has run on Layout 2 since the January 2022 reference period, and that layout sorts every transfer by two questions: did the loans leave the balance sheet, and does the bank still service them? The accounting derecognition conclusion and the servicing arrangement supply the answers, and together they pick one of five sub-tables: FTMS, FTMN, FTSB, ETIB or ETSB.

The data serve a euro-area purpose. Regulation (EU) 2021/379 of the European Central Bank (ECB/2021/2) collects monthly loan-transfer data so that the ECB can correct loan developments for the effect of securitisations and other transfers, and the BCL has to pass monthly statistics to the ECB within 15 working days of month-end. Since 30 April 2024 the ECB’s infringement regulation also applies to this collection, with alleged infringements, late or incorrect files included, recorded in a monitoring database.

Related reading: S 0.1 Daily Deposit Report: The BCL’s Mid-Month and Month-End Return

The obligation starts in EU law. Article 5(1) of Regulation (EU) 2021/379 of the ECB of 22 January 2021 on the balance sheet items of credit institutions and of the monetary financial institutions sector (recast) requires monetary financial institutions (MFIs) to report two loan-transfer data sets to their national central bank: the monthly net loan transfers in Table 5a, and the end-month outstanding amounts and monthly revaluation adjustments of transferred loans in Table 5b. Both tables sit in Part 5 of Annex I, headed “Statistical reporting requirements for loan securitisations and other loan transfers”. The regulation applies from 26 June 2021, but Articles 5, 8 and 9 apply only from 1 February 2022.

Article 7(1) leaves the frequency and timeliness of collection from reporting agents to each national central bank, provided it can meet the ECB deadlines in Article 7(2) and (3). Article 32(1) of the Law of 23 December 1998 on the monetary status and the Banque centrale du Luxembourg empowers the BCL, in order to undertake its tasks, to collect the statistical information it needs either from the competent national authorities or directly from economic agents, and to perform spot checks of that information in accordance with Union law and within the competences of the ESCB and the ECB. Article 32(2) puts the individual data under professional secrecy.

The S 1.8 instructions themselves cite no legal instrument. The link runs through Circular BCL 2021/244 of 10 February 2021, addressed to all credit institutions, which names Regulation ECB/2021/2 as its basis and announces “the complete overhaul of report S 1.8”, with new sub-tables to take the new requirements. The circular made the new collection mandatory from the January 2022 deadline, so the first reports were those relating to the end of January 2022. The instructions, the report template, the compendium of verification rules and its annex each state that the French text prevails where the English differs.

Who must report S 1.8: resident credit institutions with loan disposals or acquisitions

Section 1.1 of the instructions sets the population in one sentence: S 1.8 is provided by all resident credit institutions regardless of their legal status if they have carried out securitisation transactions or other loan transfers in the form of disposals or acquisitions. “Resident” brings in Luxembourg-incorporated banks and the Luxembourg branches of banks with a head office abroad, and “regardless of their legal status” keeps the branch form from mattering. The BCL’s definitions document confirms that branches established in Luxembourg of credit institutions governed by foreign law provide statistical reports in a single version. The trigger is activity, so a bank that never transfers loans has nothing to report.

The BCL’s inventory of statistical reporting lists S 1.8 as a monthly report in the L accounting version only. The definitions document uses version L for the Luxembourg head office, without eliminating operations with the bank’s own branches, and version N for the head office together with its foreign branches. A Luxembourg bank with foreign branches therefore reports S 1.8 for the Luxembourg entity. The treatment of transfers booked by the foreign branches themselves is not stated in any S 1.8 document, so the reporting perimeter should be confirmed against the BCL inventory or directly with the BCL before it is implemented.

The conditional wording leaves a gap the instructions do not close. ETIB and ETSB are month-end stocks of transferred loans, and Article 5(1)(d) of the ECB regulation asks for those stocks every month, whether or not a deal closed in that month. A bank that securitised and derecognised loans years ago and still services them carries an ETIB stock in every later month. A reasonable working assumption is that the stock keeps the bank in the population for as long as it exists; the instructions do not confirm it, which makes it a point to settle with the BCL in writing.

Size does not appear in the S 1.8 instructions: there is no threshold and no exemption. For credit institutions, the ECB regulation offers two routes that bear on loan transfers. Article 9(1) lets a national central bank grant small MFIs a derogation from the Article 5(1) requirements, the loan-transfer tables included, within coverage thresholds set in that article; the national central bank then collects at least annual total assets and the data needed to calculate the reserve base. Under Part 6 of Annex I, where a national central bank grants a credit institution a derogation under Article 9(2), that institution may meet the Part 5 requirements by reporting quarterly. Neither the S 1.8 instructions nor the inventory mentions either derogation for S 1.8, so the monthly rule is the one on the page.

Article 5(2) of Regulation 2021/379 lists what non-MFI credit institutions report to their national central bank, and the loan-transfer tables are missing from that list; Article 5(1)(c) and (d) place them on MFIs. The BCL population sentence covers all resident credit institutions regardless of legal status and draws no such line. A non-MFI credit institution in Luxembourg cannot read an S 1.8 exemption into the ECB list.

What the report contains: five sub-tables of 157 lines each

Section 2.2 of the instructions divides S 1.8 into five sub-tables. The first three carry the month’s net flows, calculated as acquisitions minus disposals; the last two carry month-end outstanding amounts. Matching the BCL descriptions to Part 5 of the ECB regulation gives the mapping below. The ECB column is a read-across by this article; the BCL documents use the sub-table codes only.

Sub-table What it holds (BCL description) ECB Part 5 equivalent
FTMS Net flows of loans transferred with an effect on reported outstanding amounts, where the bank ensures recovery Table 5a, Block 1
FTMN Net flows of loans transferred with an effect on reported outstanding amounts, where the bank does not ensure recovery Table 5a, Block 2
FTSB Net flows of transfers that do not affect reported outstanding amounts Table 5a, Block 3
ETIB Month-end stock of transferred loans, with an effect on reported outstanding amounts, for which the bank ensures recovery Table 5b, Block 1
ETSB Month-end stock of transferred loans with no effect on reported outstanding amounts Table 5b, Block 3

“Ensures recovery” is the BCL’s phrase for acting as servicer, the term Part 5 uses. The ECB text also defines the effect test. Transfers with an impact are disposals that end in derecognition and acquisitions that lead to recognition or re-recognition; transfers without an impact are disposals that stay on the balance sheet under IFRS 9 or similar rules, plus the acquisition of loans the bank transferred earlier without derecognition (Part 5, section 1.3). ETSB loans therefore remain inside the loan figures of the monthly statistical balance sheet S 1.1, while ETIB loans have left them. No stock sub-table exists for derecognised loans the bank does not service, because section 3.1 of Part 5 allocates the stocks to Block 1 and Block 3 only.

Loans disposed of during the warehousing phase of a securitisation, before the securities have been placed with investors, are treated as already securitised (instructions section 2.1, matching section 1.2 of Part 5).

Line codes and the four blocks in each sub-table

Every sub-table on the Layout 2 template has the same 157 lines. A line code strings together nine of the ten breakdowns in section 3 of the instructions: item, debtor country, currency, debtor sector, nature of the transfer, counterparty of the transfer, counterparty country, transfer type and data type, as in 1-002000-LU-XXX-21000-T-VDT-X2-FTMS-FLU. Initial maturity is the column, and the verification rules append it after the data type, as in 1-002000-LU-XXX-11000-T-TOT-XX-FTMS-FLU-I000-01A. Currency is always XXX, because section 3.4 says no currency breakdown is required.

The lines fall into four blocks. A total block shows securitisations (nature code T) and other loan transfers (code A) with the counterparty unsplit (code TOT, country XX), in 62 lines. A securitisation-vehicle block (VDT, counterparty country X2, all Monetary Union Member States) has 33 lines. Two blocks for other transfers with an MFI as counterparty (IFM) follow, one for Luxembourg counterparties and one for other Monetary Union Member States (X3), with 31 lines each. The structure follows section 1.2 of Part 5, which requires separate identification of securitisations with financial vehicle corporations resident in the euro area and of other transfers with domestic or other euro area MFIs; the accessible S 1.8 compendium does not specify a cross-block equality, but the BCL’s general accuracy standards require applicable linear constraints to be respected, so counterparty-specific amounts should be checked for consistency with the corresponding totals, without treating the non-exhaustive counterparty blocks as a complete partition.

Debtor breakdowns that change the line

Debtor country takes three values: LU, other Monetary Union Member States (X3) and rest of the world (X4). Rest-of-the-world debtors always sit on a single line without sector split (code 90000). Euro-area debtors are split by sector, and households appear only through the purpose items: 1-002010 credit for consumption, 1-002020 lending for house purchase and 1-002999 other loans, the last with an “of which” line for sole proprietors (sector 22110). Loans to MFIs (sector 30000) have a line only in the securitisation-vehicle block, and the instructions do not explain why.

Sector and residence come from the BCL’s “Definitions and concepts for the statistical reporting of credit institutions”, which points reporting agents to the ECB lists of MFIs, investment funds, securitisation vehicles, insurance corporations and pension funds, and to ESMA’s list of central counterparties. A counterparty wrongly coded as a securitisation vehicle moves an amount between blocks, so the list check is part of the S 1.8 build. Germany’s version of the same classification exercise is covered in our Bundesbank customer classification guide for MFI statistics.

The maturity split applies to one sector

Section 3.10 asks for initial maturity with an eight-character code, and the template offers four buckets (up to 1 year, over 1 and up to 2 years, over 2 and up to 5 years, over 5 years) plus “No breakdown”. The verification annex decides where each bucket is allowed. Only the ten lines for loans to non-financial corporations resident in Luxembourg or other Monetary Union Member States take the four buckets, with “No breakdown” forced to zero; on every other line the four buckets must be zero and the amount goes to I999-999. Recital 10 of the ECB regulation explains the design: the ECB wanted monthly data on household loans by purpose and on loans to non-financial corporations by maturity.

Sign, valuation and units

Net flows are acquisitions minus disposals, so a month in which the bank mainly sells loans produces negative amounts, and the sample file in the BCL’s XML package shows an FTMS amount of -100. The compendium allows positive or negative amounts in all five sub-tables, the two stock sub-tables included. Part 5 of the ECB regulation values the flows at transaction value, meaning the sale or purchase price (section 2.1), and section 1.1 points the data to Article 8(2), which requires end-month principal outstanding amounts with write-offs and write-downs excluded. The BCL instructions repeat neither rule.

On units, the S 1.8 instructions are silent. The definitions document says statistical reports are drawn up in the institution’s accounting currency with up to five decimals, and the schema’s amount type accepts five decimal places.

Deadlines for S 1.8: 10 working days on the ECB calendar

Section 1.2 of the instructions requires S 1.8 monthly, no later than 10 working days after the end of the reference period, and refers to the remittance calendar the BCL publishes. The reference date is the last day of the month, which the XML header carries as endMonthDate.

  • Reference period: the calendar month, reported at month-end.
  • Remittance to the BCL: 10 working days after month-end, on the date in the BCL calendar for that year.
  • BCL transmission to the ECB: monthly statistics by close of business on the 15th working day after month-end (Article 7(2) of Regulation 2021/379).
  • First Layout 2 report: reference period January 2022.

The calendar is the operative source. Its footnote says the deadlines are based on the working days the ECB defines for the transmission of statistics by national central banks, so the working days in the count are the ECB’s. In the 2026 calendar the S 1.8 L2 column carries the same date as the S 1.1 L6 column in every month; the March 2026 report, for example, fell due on 16 April 2026.

Lateness follows a defined path. The inventory asks reporting agents to inform the BCL of any delay by mail or electronic mail. Circular letter ST.24-0013 of 15 January 2024 announced that Regulation (EU) 2022/1917 (ECB/2022/31) applies from 30 April 2024 to the BCL collections listed in its Annex I, which includes Regulation 2021/379, and that from the April 2024 reference period the ECB and the BCL monitor compliance and record alleged infringements in a database.

Article 8 of Regulation 2022/1917 states that technical difficulties with IT infrastructure, outsourced IT included, are not treated as beyond the reporting agent’s control. Article 8(7) bars an infringement procedure where the potential fine is not likely to exceed EUR 10,000 for information reported after the deadline, or EUR 20,000 for information that is incorrect, incomplete or in the wrong form. ST.24-0013 adds that once alleged infringements have accumulated to the point that would trigger a procedure and a warning has been sent, the reporting agent may submit a remedial plan, except in cases of serious misconduct.

Submission: the S18 XML schema, the S0108_L2 file name and Sofie or e-file

S 1.8 travels as an XML file built on the BCL’s schema package S0108_Schema_XML_v1_2_r144, dated 8 March 2021 on the hub. The main schema, S18.xsd, fixes the version attribute at 1.2 and uses the namespace http://www.bcl.lu/2009/S1.8; it imports a datatypes schema for the code formats and a structures schema for the identifiers. A header carries endMonthDate, closingDate, reporterID, declarantID, reportingCurrency and layout. The content holds one element per sub-table (ftms, ftmn, ftsb, etib, etsb), each a list of reported lines with the line identifier, the maturity code and the amount.

The file name

The BCL’s manual of electronic transmission for statistical reports of credit institutions (February 2021) gives S 1.8 L2 the pattern S0108_L2_yyyymm_Rrrrrrrrrr_Dddddddddd_yyyymmdd_nnn. The first date is the reference month and the second is the creation date of the file. R and D are letters for the reporter, the entity that submits, and the declarant, the entity whose data the file contains, each followed by the nine-digit identification number allocated by the CSSF with leading zeros. Banks use B as declarant, and the manual also allows P for a reporter that is a professional of the financial sector.

The final three digits are a sequence number that restarts at 001 every day and separates files created on the same day for the same report. The BCL’s own example in the schema package is S0108_L2_202201_B000000999_B000000999_20220210_001.xml, bank 999’s January 2022 report created on 10 February 2022. Inside the file, the reporter and declarant appear as identification type 23 with the bank’s code.

Channels and feedback

The manual names Sofie and e-file as the accepted channels and leaves room for another secure channel agreed by both sides. Circular letter ST.24-0013 closed the email route: as part of the infringement procedure, the BCL no longer accepts statistical reports sent by email. Circular BCL 2021/243 of 10 February 2021 announced return files through the secure channels, both acknowledgements of receipt and the results of processing.

The BCL’s April 2025 note on feedbacks names S0108 among the reports that can receive up to three feedback types: FL-OK or FL-NOK on the technical status of the file, DQ-FDB for data points the BCL wants corrected or confirmed, and ADHC-FDB for ad hoc requests outside the production cycle. The note moves these from email to Sofie and E-file in stages and says each feedback carries its own response deadline, which falls within the ECB non-compliance framework.

On resubmission the S 1.8 documents say little. Nothing in them states whether a corrected file must repeat the whole report or may carry only changed lines, and S 1.8 has no counterpart to the AnaCredit instruction that only files with a positive technical feedback count as received; our AnaCredit v1.0.15 technical specifications update covers that collection’s feedback mechanics.

Validation: 598 zero-cell rules per sub-table and what the schema rejects

The compendium of verification rules (February 2021) splits checks into permanent rules, which it invites software providers to implement, and temporary rules aimed at reporting agents. For S 1.8 it lists permanent rules only. The internal rule for each sub-table is a single line: cells may hold positive or negative amounts on the maturities where non-zero values are allowed. The detail sits in the annex workbook, dated 17 November 2021 on the hub, with one sheet per sub-table listing the cells that must be zero.

Each sheet holds 598 rules, numbered S0108_L2_FTMS1_0001 onwards for FTMS and likewise for the other four, and every rule takes the form line code plus maturity code equals zero. The count reconciles with the template: 147 lines with their four maturity buckets forced to zero make 588 rules, and the ten non-financial corporation lines with “No breakdown” forced to zero make the other 10. A file that puts a household loan into a maturity bucket, or a corporate loan into “No breakdown”, breaks one of these rules.

The schema adds checks of its own. Each sub-table element fixes its transfer type code, so a reported line in the ftmn block must carry FTMN. Each block has a uniqueness constraint on the full line identifier including the maturity code, which stops the same cell being reported twice in one sub-table, the maturity code must fit an eight-character pattern such as I01A-02A, and amounts take at most five decimals.

The English instructions contain a slip that matters here. Section 2.2 prints “transfer type code: FTMS” under all three flow sub-tables, while the template and the schema use FTMN and FTSB for the second and third. A code list copied from the instruction text alone would produce lines the schema rejects.

Two further points sit outside the published rules. The compendium’s list of annex sheets names CTND-1 and CTND-2, zero cells and hierarchical relations for a sub-table “CTND”, yet the annex contains no CTND sheet and no other S 1.8 document mentions CTND. The published rules also contain no cross-report check, for example between ETSB and the S 1.1 loan stock. The compendium does say that the ECB checks the data before aggregating them with other Member States’ data, and DQ-FDB is the channel through which the BCL asks for corrections or confirmations.

Caveats for S 1.8: derecognition, servicing, pledged credit claims and S 1.4

The sub-table choice follows the accounting answer. Part 5 ties “no impact” to disposals that do not result in derecognition under IFRS 9 or similar rules, so the deal type alone cannot place a transfer: a sale of loans to a securitisation vehicle is an FTMS or FTMN item if the loans are derecognised and an FTSB item if they stay on the balance sheet.

Three provisions in the ECB text have no counterpart in the BCL instructions, so the ECB text is the reference point. Section 1.3(b) of Part 5 excludes from Table 5 loans provided to the Eurosystem as credit claims for monetary policy credit operations where the transfer does not lead to derecognition, so on the ECB text mobilised credit claims are neither FTSB nor ETSB items.

Section 2.3 permits a national central bank to instruct MFIs to allocate transfers serviced by another domestic MFI to Block 1, subject to separate identification. The accessible BCL narrative instructions do not establish whether Luxembourg exercises this option, and the S 1.8 template shows no separate line for that case. Reporting agents involved in third-party servicing arrangements should confirm the applicable treatment with the BCL rather than infer it from the template. Section 3.3 lets the national central bank ask for more information when the holder of transferred loans or the servicing arrangement for derecognised loans changes, because such changes can call for reclassification adjustments.

Annex I, Part 5, section 4 of Regulation (EU) 2021/379 requires monthly revaluation adjustments for the relevant transferred-loan stocks, including differences between outstanding amounts and transaction values in the transfer month. The BCL S 1.8 narrative instructions refer to valuation effects, but the reporting field used for these adjustments must be confirmed against the current Layout 2 report workbook or directly with the BCL. The S 1.4 instructions cover part of that ground: write-offs and write-downs recognised at the time a loan is sold or transferred to a third party are included in S 1.4, “where identifiable”. The published S 1.8 and S 1.4 documents do not say where the BCL collects the rest, such as the effect of a sale above par.

Supervisory data run alongside. Circular 2021/244 lists consistency with data collected for supervisory purposes among the objectives of the BCL collection, while conceding that it “is not possible for all the information to collect”. For S 1.8 the common ground is the derecognition conclusion, which also decides whether the loans stay in the balance sheet reported to supervisors; our FINREP reporting guide covers that side.

Changes to S 1.8: the 2022 overhaul, Bulgaria from 2026 and IReF from 2031

The hub keeps the layout history. Layout 0 applied from June 2010 to November 2014 and Layout 1 from December 2014 to December 2021, after which Layout 2 took over. Layout 2 followed the recast of the ECB regulation. Regulation (EU) No 1071/2013 (ECB/2013/33) was repealed with effect from 26 June 2021, and its Article 6 had asked for four strands of loan-transfer data, among them the end-of-quarter amount of all loans an MFI services in a securitisation. Article 5(1)(c) and (d) of Regulation 2021/379 replaced them with the monthly Tables 5a and 5b, and Recital 10 explains the new monthly household-purpose and corporate-maturity detail.

Two dates on the hub matter for anyone maintaining a mapping. The instructions, the compendium and the XML schemas carry 8 March 2021, while the report template and the verification annex were updated on 17 November 2021, less than two months before the first Layout 2 reference period began. The hub offers revision-marked versions. Circular 2021/244 had opened a test phase from September 2021, with monthly test files possible from October 2021 for the September 2021 reference period. After go-live, the April 2025 feedback note began moving S0108 feedback from email to the secure channels in stages.

Circular letter ST.25-0366 of 31 July 2025 names S 1.8 among the monthly reports affected by Bulgaria’s adoption of the euro on 1 January 2026. From the reports referring to January 2026, Bulgaria moves from “Rest of the world” into the “Other Monetary Union Member States” group, and reports up to and including 31 December 2025 treat it as outside the Monetary Union. In S 1.8 terms Bulgarian debtors move from the X4 lines to the X3 lines, while the precise IFM counterparty block for a Bulgarian MFI involved in another loan transfer should be confirmed against the current S 1.8 Layout 2 template.

The next structural change is the ECB’s Integrated Reporting Framework (IReF). On 8 June 2026 the ECB announced its roll-out milestones, subject to adoption of the IReF Regulation after the public consultation: the consultation on the draft regulation is planned for the second half of 2027, a one-year pilot phase starts in the second quarter of 2030, and the first official IReF reporting starts in the second quarter of 2031, with a one-year parallel phase in which existing statistical reporting within the IReF scope continues. The press release names no individual collection and says an implementation plan will set out how national collection frameworks evolve, so it does not say when or whether S 1.8 ends. The BCL’s IReF page points to the Joint Bank Reporting Committee, whose reporting contact group is described in our JBRC reporting contact group article.

Frequently Asked Questions

The bank’s securitisation vehicle is resident outside the euro area. Does the sale appear in the vehicle block?

The vehicle block uses counterparty country X2, the Monetary Union Member States, in line with the ECB requirement to identify securitisations with financial vehicle corporations resident in the euro area. A sale to a vehicle resident elsewhere is still a securitisation, so it appears in the total block under nature code T with the counterparty unsplit, and in none of the counterparty-specific blocks.

A bank buys a loan portfolio from another Luxembourg bank outside any securitisation. Is that an S 1.8 entry for the buyer?

Yes, where the purchase is recognised on the buyer’s balance sheet: the population sentence covers acquisitions as well as disposals, and Part 5 treats an acquisition that leads to recognition as a transfer with an impact. The buyer reports a positive net flow in FTMS or FTMN depending on whether it services the loans, under nature code A in the total block and, as a separate identification, in the IFM block with counterparty country LU. The seller reports its side according to its own derecognition and servicing outcome.

The bank repurchases loans from its own earlier securitisation. Which sub-table takes the repurchase?

That depends on how the original sale was booked. If the loans were derecognised on sale and now return to the balance sheet, the repurchase is an acquisition with re-recognition, a transfer with an impact under section 1.3(a) of Part 5, and goes to FTMS or FTMN with a positive sign. If the original sale never achieved derecognition, the reacquisition is a transfer without an impact under section 1.3(b) and belongs in FTSB.

Does moving a loan from the Luxembourg head office to the bank’s own foreign branch count as a transfer?

No S 1.8 document addresses it. The definitions document says the L version, the only version of S 1.8, does not eliminate operations between the Luxembourg head office and its branches, which suggests such a move is visible in L-version data. Whether it is a “loan transfer” in the S 1.8 sense, and under which counterparty, is a classification question to put to the BCL.

Two banks merge in the middle of a month. Who files S 1.8 for the acquired bank?

Article 11 of Regulation 2021/379 covers this. Where a merger takes place between the end of a reference period and the reporting deadline, the acquiring institution fulfils the acquired institution’s reporting for that period as if the merger had not occurred. Where the merger falls within a reference period, the national central bank may let the acquirer report the acquired institution separately, for no longer than six months after the merger. Article 11(1) and (2) also require a notification a reasonable time before the merger takes effect, once the intention is public and the merger is likely to affect reporting, specifying the procedures to be used.

Does the file have to carry all 157 lines of every sub-table?

The schema does not require it. Each of the five sub-table elements is optional, and the sample file in the BCL package carries one line per sub-table. The instructions do not say whether zero lines must be sent, so the sample points towards transmitting populated lines only, and a short written confirmation from the BCL settles the point for a first build.

A newly authorised bank files its first S 1.8. Does the infringement regime apply from the first month?

Article 11(1) of Regulation 2022/1917 suspends Article 8, the provision on initiating infringement procedures, for 12 months after first reporting where the information is reported by new reporting agents, or reported for the first time under new or substantively amended requirements. The suspension does not cover serious misconduct (Article 11(2)), and it leaves the BCL deadline itself untouched.

Key Takeaways

  • Obtain each transfer’s derecognition conclusion and servicing status from accounting and operations before the statistical close; the sub-table cannot be chosen without both.
  • Keep the ETIB and ETSB feeds running after the deal month, and agree in writing with the BCL whether a month without new transfers still needs a file.
  • Load the annex zero-cell rules into pre-submission checks, so a household amount in a maturity bucket is caught before the BCL sees the file.
  • Take the transfer type codes from the schema and the template, FTMN and FTSB included, whatever the English instruction text prints.
  • Re-point Bulgarian debtors to the X3 lines for every report from January 2026 onwards, and confirm the block for Bulgarian MFI counterparties.
  • Compare any mapping built from the March 2021 files with the revision-marked template and annex dated 17 November 2021.
  • Ask the BCL where the price difference on loans sold or bought away from par belongs, because the published narrative instructions do not identify a dedicated field for that adjustment.

Sources and References

  • Banque centrale du Luxembourg, S 1.8 “Securitisations and other loan transfers by credit institutions” (document hub, Layouts 0 to 2): BCL S 1.8 page
  • BCL, Report S 1.8 L2 Reporting instructions (February 2021): S0108 L2 instructions (PDF)
  • BCL, Report S 1.8 L2 Report template (updated 17 November 2021): S0108 L2 report (XLS)
  • BCL, Report S 1.8 L2 Compendium of verification rules (February 2021): S0108 L2 verification rules (PDF)
  • BCL, Annex to the compendium of verification rules (updated 17 November 2021): S0108 L2 verification annex (XLS)
  • BCL, S 1.8 L2 XML schemas, package S0108_Schema_XML_v1_2_r144: S0108 L2 XML schemas (ZIP)
  • BCL, Manual of electronic transmission for statistical reports of credit institutions (February 2021): Electronic transmission manual (PDF)
  • BCL, Definitions and concepts for the statistical reporting of credit institutions (2024): Definitions and concepts (PDF)
  • BCL, Inventory of statistical reporting requirements for credit institutions (February 2022): Inventory (XLS)
  • BCL, Calendar of remittance dates for the statistical reporting of credit institutions in 2026 (December 2025): 2026 calendar (PDF)
  • BCL, Feedbacks for the statistical reports (April 2025): Feedbacks note (PDF)
  • BCL, Report S 1.4 L3 Reporting instructions (February 2021): S0104 L3 instructions (PDF)
  • BCL, AnaCredit reporting instructions: AnaCredit instructions (PDF)
  • Circular BCL 2021/244, Modification of the statistical reporting from credit institutions (10 February 2021): Circular BCL 2021/244 (PDF)
  • Circular BCL 2021/243, Exchange of information with registrants (10 February 2021): Circular BCL 2021/243 (PDF)
  • BCL Circular letter ST.24-0013, Monitoring compliance with statistical reporting (15 January 2024): ST.24-0013 (PDF)
  • BCL Circular letter ST.25-0366, Adoption of the euro by Bulgaria (31 July 2025): ST.25-0366 (PDF)
  • Law of 23 December 1998 concerning the monetary status and the Banque centrale du Luxembourg, BCL consolidated English version as of 30 July 2021 (Article 32): BCL Organic Law (PDF)
  • Regulation (EU) 2021/379 of the European Central Bank of 22 January 2021 on the balance sheet items of credit institutions and of the monetary financial institutions sector (recast) (ECB/2021/2), OJ L 73, 3.3.2021: EUR-Lex 32021R0379
  • Regulation (EU) No 1071/2013 of the European Central Bank of 24 September 2013 concerning the balance sheet of the monetary financial institutions sector (ECB/2013/33): EUR-Lex 32013R1071
  • Regulation (EU) 2022/1917 of the European Central Bank of 29 September 2022 on infringement procedures in cases of non-compliance with statistical reporting requirements (ECB/2022/31): EUR-Lex 32022R1917
  • European Central Bank, “ECB announces main milestones for roll-out of Integrated Reporting Framework” (8 June 2026): ECB press release
  • BCL, Project: Integrated Reporting Framework (IReF): BCL IReF page

Building the monthly S 1.8 run

An S 1.8 run depends on information held outside the statistical system: the derecognition conclusion for each transfer, the servicing status, and each counterparty’s sector and residence checked against the ECB and CSSF lists. With those in place, the template, the annex and the schema fix the line and rule structure, and the questions the documents leave open can go to the BCL in writing before the first file. The month that has just closed is due on the date the BCL calendar prints, 10 ECB working days after month-end.

Disclaimer: The information on RegReportingDesk.com is for educational and informational purposes only. It does not constitute legal, regulatory, tax, or compliance advice. Always consult your compliance officer, legal counsel, or the relevant supervisory authority for guidance specific to your institution.

Similar Posts

  • S 2.9 Staff Report: The BCL’s Quarterly Headcount and Movements Return

    Report Library › Prudential ReportingEvery credit institution resident in Luxembourg sends the Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL) the S 2.9 staff report once a quarter, no later than 20 calendar days after the quarter ends, on the remittance date in the BCL’s annual calendar, which can fall after day 20 when the 20th is not…

  • S 2.8 Reporting: The BCL’s Quarterly Count of Luxembourg Building Loans

    Report Library › Prudential ReportingResident credit institutions must submit S 2.8 quarterly to the Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL). The instructions specify a deadline of 20 calendar days after quarter-end, while the BCL’s annual remittance calendar supplies the operative filing date, which can fall later. S 2.8 reporting, which the BCL titles “Real estate loans…

  • BCL S 2.5 Reporting: The Quarterly Balance Sheet in L and N Versions

    Report Library › Prudential ReportingEvery credit institution resident in Luxembourg sends the Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL) report S 2.5, the quarterly statistical balance sheet, at the latest 20 calendar days after each quarter-end. BCL S 2.5 reporting has used its current Layout 0 since the January 2022 reference period, following Circular BCL 2021/244 of…

  • BCL S 1.9 Reporting: Renminbi Loans, Deposits and the CNH Rule

    Report Library › Prudential ReportingSince the June 2015 reference period, Luxembourg credit institutions that hold and trade renminbi have been required to file report S 1.9, “Information on CNY operations”, with the Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL) every month. Circular BCL 2015/238 of 12 January 2015 introduced BCL S 1.9 reporting, and each monthly file…